Brides Across America – Wedding Gowns for our Military Brides

I had the pleasure of working with The Wedding Gallery in St. Charles today as they participated in Brides Across America. It’s a wonderful program which gives away, free of charge, a wedding dress to brides of deployed military personnel or who are soon to be deployed themselves. What a great way to honor our troops and give a little something back.

It was a lot of fun. In addition to taking some photos of the event itself, when a bride found her dress, I’d get a nice, if somewhat informal, portrait of her in her gown. There were brides-to-be from as far away as Nebraska who made the drive for the event. Channel 5 news was there for a while as well and I even made my television debut, albeit extremely briefly. (You can tell when you see me, I’m the only guy there.) My television debut!  Kinda.  Well, I’m in there!

 
And it’s not over yet! It’s still going on tomorrow from noon to 4, so if you or your loved one are recently or soon-to-be deployed and you’re looking for a great deal on a wedding gown (who can beat free?) be sure to stop by The Wedding Gallery in St. Charles tomorrow (Thursday, November 11, 2010)

I love working with Nagwa, The Wedding Gallery’s owner. We have a very similar philosophy. She really bends over backwards to make sure her brides absolutely love their dress. I can’t tell you how many times I saw brides tear up and give her a big hug as they were leaving after finding the right gown.

I really don’t make recommendations lightly. When it comes to my wedding clients I get very obsessive about making sure they get the best they can, so when I turn them over to someone else’s care and I lose any say in how they’re treated, well it makes me very nervous most of the time. That’s why I don’t often make strong referrals. But I always feel comfortable with Nagwa knowing she’s going to take care of my clients and friends the way I would want to myself.

Leave a Reply

