How I Work, St Louis Wedding Photography, St. Charles Wedding Photography, Wedding, Wedding Photography

More Details

Details_Hdr

Details are an important part of every wedding day. Most couples spend a lot of time sweating the details, so it’s important that I capture a decent cross section. There’s no way to photograph everything but I get a good overall feel.

These are just a very few of the detail shots from this past weekend’s wedding. All of these were taken before the ceremony and represent only a fraction of the total. These don’t even take the reception into account.

Snowflakes

When possible, I prefer to find scenes as they exist naturally rather than stage them. The reserved sign and a rose to be presented to the mothers is a prime example. That’s the way they were already placed. I simply had to find the right position. The reserved sign is a great story element as the bride had a special group of honored guests that were very important to her.

Reserved

Rose

On the other hand, I’m not averse to do a little setup when I have the time and when the situation demands it. Her faith is a big part of the bride’s life, so placing the rings on a Bible just seemed right. I had her flowers held in position which adds a level of softness and beauty. The colors just work so well, even the emerald green table cloth that the Bible is resting on.

Rings

I particularly try to capture “action” details such as the lighting of the candles.

Semenenko_sCandles

Detail photos fall about midway on my priority list (moments and emotions first, details, then eventually poses) which means if there’s a great moment between the bride and her mother, I’m not going to miss it to photograph her shoes.

Leave a Reply

