Black and White Photography, Black and White Wedding Photography, Portraits, St Louis Wedding Photography, St. Charles Wedding Photography, Wedding, Wedding Photography

2013 Top Wedding Portraits

The end of the year is upon us and I’m already looking forward to a packed 2014. It’s a great time to look back at some of my favorite photos of the year.

For the year in review, however, I’m doing it a little differently. I break up the wedding day into two distinct phases: completely candid, documentary style and staged portraits. So I’m breaking up the year in review into portraits in this post and candid documentary in the next.

This past year I upped my technical game with off camera lighting and a more relaxed, less hurried approach. For 2014 I intend to take that even further. Even staged and lit photos are going to going to express story rather than the typical “stand this way and smile pretty” mentality.

In fact, my theme for 2014 is “All story, all the time.

While portraits represent only about 10%-15% of my actual wedding day coverage, it’s an extremely important 10%-15% so I put a lot of effort into them.

Leave a Reply

